You are here: Home News Photo Contest Rules, Deadlines & Prizes

Rules, Deadlines & Prizes

Rules, Deadlines & Prizes



  • Photographers of any age who live or work in Washtenaw County.

  • Photos of an object, a place, a distinguishing part of the landscape or a structure in your community that has special significance. The significance could be aesthetic, historical, cultural or other. The photo should help celebrate the recognized or little recognized sights in Washtenaw County that help identify and comfort the citizens who live here.

  • When you submit a photograph to the Washtenaw County Landmark Photo Contest you will continue to hold all rights to the photograph.

  • More than one photo may be sumbitted, but each photo must be entered separately - with its own entry form.

  • For a photo in which a person is recognizable, you must secure a Release from the subject or, in the case of a minor, the subject's parent or guardian and provide it to Washtenaw County through the mail or hand delivered to:

Washtenaw County Landmark Photo Contest
220 N. Main St.
Ann Arbor MI 48107

A Photo Release template is available for your use on this web site.  Just print out the release and have it signed by the person in the photo.  Then mail it to the above address.

  • Photographs previously published or pending publication, or photos that violate or infringe upon another person's copyright, are not eligible.


  • All photos much be submitted online. We cannot accept photographs submitted through the mail.

  • Digital photographs should be taken at the highest resolution possible, but files submitted may not be larger than 1,024k (1Mb). The 30 winning entrants and 15 finalists may be asked to submit a higher-resolution file. Photographs must be in a .jpeg, .jpg or .gif format. See more on the Entry Form for submissions.

  • By entering the contest, entrants grant Washtenaw County the right to publish and use submitted photographs in print or electronic form in the future for exhibition and further promotion of the Washtenaw County community. Any reproduced photo will include a photographer credit.

  • Submit your photo using the online entry form.


  • The Washtenaw County Landmark Photo Contest starts April 16, 2007 and ends April 16, 2008 at 5pm. All photos must have been taken during that time period in order to be considered.  The year-long campaign will help us collect submsissions from all four seasons in Washtenaw County.


  • Judging will be conducted by three local photographers and County residents: Don Werthmann, Barbara Levin Bergman and Ray Berg. Please see the Judges page for more information on the contest judges.

  • Throughout the year, selected submissions will be displayed on the Gallery pages of the Contest web site ( Winning photographs and selected finalists will have their photos professionally mounted and framed. Copies of these framed pieces will be awarded to the photographer, and to the elected officials where the landmark is located.

  • Winning entrants and finalists will be invited to a gala Washtenaw Landmark Photo Contest Reception and Exhibition in the spring of 2008.

  • Decisions of the contest judges will be final.

Document Actions
Google Translate