Application Process for New Concealed Pistol Law
- Obtain application kit from County Clerk/Register, local police department, Sheriff's Office, or online.
- Obtain Pistol Safety Training Course.
- Submit completed application; one passport-quality photographs; (no polaroid Photos accepted); certificate of completion of pistol safety training to County Clerk/Register. Application must be signed in the presence of a Deputy Clerk. Training must have occurred after January 1, 2001, and must state that it complies with the requirements of P.A. 372 of 1927, as amended. $105 Application and Renewal Fee.
- References address and phone numbers must be residential addresses. Zip codes for references must also be included.
- First, file application with the County Clerk/Register's Office. Then take the receipt of application to the Sheriff's Office to get fingerprinted during the following hours:
Monday & Friday - 8:00 AM - Noon
Tuesday through Thursday - 1:00 PM - 4:30 PM
- Fingerprints take approximately 30 to 90 days to be returned from State & FBI check.
- Concealed Weapon Licensing Board has 45 days to review application after receiving fingerprint check.
- Letters are sent following Board's decision informing applicant of approval or denial.
- All approved permits are sent through the mail with the approval letter.
- If a permit is lost or stolen, there is a $10.00 fee for replacements.
Please Check the link below for information
Michigan State Police - Concealed Pistol Application and Instructions
The Board meets at 8:30 a.m. in the Clerk/Register's Conference Room, 200 N. Main Street, Suite 120, Ann Arbor, Michigan.
Please see our website for the Concealed Weapon Licensing Board meeting schedule.
Meeting dates are subject to change. This information is posted in compliance with Open Meetings Act, Public Act 267 of 1976. The County of Washtenaw will provide necessary reasonable auxiliary aids and services, such as signers for the hearing impaired and audio tapes of printed materials being considered at the meeting, to individuals with disabilities at the meeting/hearing upon 7 days' notice to the County of Washtenaw. Individuals with disabilities requiring auxiliary aids or services should contact the County of Washtenaw by writing or calling the following:
Diane Heidt, Human Resources
220 North Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48107-8645
TDD #(734) 994-1733
Jennifer Beauchamp, Deputy Clerk
Phone: (734) 222-6730
Fax: (734) 222-6528
200 N. Main St., Ste 120
P.O. Box 8645
Ann Arbor, MI 48107
Monday - Friday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM