You are here: Home Government Departments Veteran Affairs Services


Serving as the customer's advocate, Washtenaw County Department of Veterans Affairs (WCDVA) assists county veterans and their dependents in the pursuit of all veteran related benefits. Veteran programs and benefits are available at all levels of government (federal, state, and local). The trained specialists employed are available to pursue those entitlements and benefits.

The WCDVA administers the Veterans Relief Fund (VRF) which is "...for the relief of honorably discharged members of the US Armed Forces of all wars or military expeditions...and the indigent spouses, minor children, and parents of each such indigent or deceased members of the Armed Forces." 

The WCDVA also provides office space and the use of office equipment to make application to the Michigan Veterans' Trust Fund (MVTF) . Similar to the County VRF, the MVTF is designed to assist honorably discharged WARTIME veterans and/or their dependents who experience temporary, unforeseen,  financial hardships that are determined to be emergent in nature.  Washtenaw County is currently a part of a pilot project initiated by the MVTF Board of Trustees to use a Regional Committee versus a Local Committee.  The pilot will be in place from July 1, 2016 until December 31, 2016.  During that time, applicants will have 24/7 access to Emergency Assistance by calling 800-MICH-VET (800-642-4838) or apply online at  In addition, applicants can come into the WCDVA and receive guidance from our office Staff to call or apply online.

Wartime Dates For the VRF and the MVTF as provided by State Law (MCLA 35.61-62/Public Act 190 of 1965):

World War I:  Apr 6, 1917 - Nov 11, 1918 (if service in Russia, then the period beginning on Apr 6, 1917 and ending on Apr 1, 1920)

World War II:  Dec 7, 1941 - Dec 31, 1946

Korea:  Jun 27, 1950 - Jan 31, 1955

Vietnam:  Feb 28, 1961 - May 7, 1975

Gulf War:  Aug 2, 1990 through a date to be set by Law or Presidential Proclamation - This era includes veterans from Operations Desert Shield/Desert Storm, Operation Noble Eagle (Homeland Defense), Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF), Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF), and Operation New Dawn (Iraq). 

**Non-wartime era veterans may also establish eligibility for the above services if they were awarded the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal or the Navy Expeditionary Medal.

Veteran related benefits are available at the following levels of government:


Veteran's Benefit Administration
Department of Veteran's Affairs


Department of Military and Veteran's Affairs


Washtenaw County Council of Veterans

Other Important Links

Buddy To Buddy Program

Document Actions
Google Translate