Food Manager Certification Classes
As of April 2, 2010, any food service establishment operating without a certified food safety manager is in violation of the Michigan Food Law and will be subject to enforcement procedures.
Food Service establishments must have at least one manager certified in food safety. ServSafe, Thomson Prometric, or The National Registry of Food Safety Professionals certifications are all acceptable forms of certification. (The following types of establishments are exempt from having a certified manager: Mobile Food Units, STFU's, vending machine locations & temporary events.)
Washtenaw County is committed to working with food service establishments to educate employees and operators about food safety. Please contact the Environmental Health Division at (734) 222-3800 if you have any questions related to food safety, or if you have suggestions for other educational materials or methods.
ServSafe Training Opportunities in Washtenaw County
Michigan State University Extension is partnering with Washtenaw County Environmental Health to bring you ServSafe training courses. ServSafe courses were developed by the National Restaurant Association (NRA) to address the growing food safety concerns of consumers.
16-Hour Manager Certification Course
This certification program provides food managers with thorough training in all areas of food safety relevant to a food service establishment. Upon successful completion of an exam, participants will receive a certificate verifying that they are a certified ServSafe Food Protection Manager. Managers with this certification meet the Michigan Food Law, Act 92 of 2000 requirement to have a manager certified in food safety in each food service establishment.
All classes run from 9:00 am - 5:00pm. Lunch is on your own. You must attend all 16 hours (both days) of class to take the certification exam. The exam is given on the second day of class. You must pass the exam with a score of 75% or higher to receive your certificate. Certification is good for 5 years.
Registration Fee: $145
Book and Exam Fee: $65 (+ shipping)
- January 21 & 28, 2014
- March 18 & 25, 2014
- July 22 & 29, 2014
- September 23 & 30, 2014
8-Hour Manager Re-Certification Course
This class is for those who have already completed the 16-hour ServSafe Manager Certification Course in the past. You must bring your old certificate to the class. Class begins at 9:00am and ends at 5:00pm. Lunch is on your own. You must attend all 8 hours of class to take the re-certification exam.
Registration Fee: $70
Book and Exam Fee: $65 (+ shipping)
- May 6, 2014
- November 18, 2014
ServSafe Course Registration
ServSafe course registration is now done completely online! After registering online for your class, either pay with a credit card online or print a form and mail a check to Michigan State University. To register for a ServSafe course, visit the website:
Purchasing a ServSafe Course Book
You must purchase a ServSafe 6th Edition Book before coming to class! Books can be purchased from a link on the course registration website, or from this website:
Copies of ServSafe Certificates
Unless you have submitted a copy of your ServSafe certificate to Washtenaw County Environmental Health, we do not have a copy of your certificate. To order a duplicate of your ServSafe Food Protection Manager certificate, print out and complete a Certificate and Score Release Request Form. Submit the form to the ServSafe Service Center. The cost is $20 for each certificate requested.
Other ServSafe Training Opportunities
If our classes don't fit into your schedule, other class times may be available. Check the ServSafe website for more information!
For More Information
For more information on ServSafe classes, please contact Jeannie Nichols with MSU Extension at 517-439-9301. Please let Jeannie know that you are calling about a Washtenaw County ServSafe class.
For more information on food safety or requirements, please contact Washtenaw County Environmental Health at 734-222-3800.