CoC Board

Washtenaw County CoC Board is the lead decision-making body of the Washtenaw County CoC comprised of up to 25 member representatives. Click below to learn more.

Membership of the CoC Board

Terms of Office

Leadership of the CoC Board

Board Responsibilities

CoC Board Selection

Board Members

Board Meetings & Materials


Membership of the CoC Board

The Washtenaw County CoC Board is the lead decision-making body of the Washtenaw County CoC comprised of up to 25 member representatives. Agencies and community representatives have been selected to form a robust group of mainstream service providers whose agencies impact and are impacted by homelessness, those with access to critical resources, and those who bring homelessness and housing expertise. This Board make-up will provide the CoC with the guidance and influence needed to effectively implement policies, strategies and activities toward ending homelessness.

Terms of Office

 The members of the Washtenaw County CoC Board shall serve two-year terms.

Leadership of the CoC Board

The Washtenaw County CoC Board shall have two co-chairpersons and a secretary, selected into leadership by the CoC Board members annually by a majority vote. Co-chairs and secretary serve one-year terms. The CoC Executive Committee shall include these three officers in conjunction with CoC Committee Chairs. Current members serving include:

  • Renee Smith, Co-Chairperson
  • John Hieftje, Co-Chairperson
  • Reece Correll, Secretary
  • Marla Conkin, Committee Chair, Community Housing Prioritization Committee
  • Amanda Carlisle, Committee Chair, Washtenaw Housing Alliance Operations Committee
  • Rhonda Weathers, Committee Chair, Coordinated Entry Oversight & Evaluation Committee

Board Responsibilities


  • Attend regularly scheduled meetings and contribute to informed dialogue on actions the group undertakes;
  • Serve on at least one committee of the Washtenaw County CoC Board;
  • Provide overall direction and leadership of the CoC process;
  • Provide strategic planning, goal-setting, and formal decision making on behalf of the CoC;
  • Establish, monitor, and evaluate system and program outcomes for evaluation purposes;
  • Establish priorities for and making decisions about the allocation of CoC resources;
  • Receive reports and recommendations from sub-committees and task groups;
  • Establish sub-committees and task groups as needed to perform CoC functions;
  • Provide official communications from the CoC, including advocacy and public education efforts.

CoC Board Selection

All voting members gain membership to the Board through the process defined as follows:

  • Appointed Members:
    • The following will appoint its representative(s) to the Board: DHHS, WCCMH, OCED, WHA, Public Health, Substance Abuse Coordinating Agency, McKinney-Vento Liaison, VA, Housing commissions, Washtenaw County Sheriff, Ann Arbor Police, Ypsilanti Police, HAWC, Washtenaw County Board Chair, City of Ann Arbor, Regional Workforce Development, and city/district/township
    • The following will be appointed by the WHA OC: CoC non-funded agencies, homeless and housing service providers
  • Nominated Members:

Homeless/previously homeless individuals, local businesses/merchants, representatives from the faith community, the private funder representative, institute of higher education, and at-large organizations are nominated by the CoC and selected by the CoC Board by process outlined below.

(1) Any individual or organization interested in serving on the CoC board shall be nominated, either by self-nomination or through nomination by another person; these nominations may be submitted up to the day before the CoC meeting during which the voting will occur; (2) Submitted nominations will be voted on by the CoC membership. This will determine which nominees will be considered by the CoC Board. (3) The CoC Board shall select nominees from each category by a vote of the appointed CoC members.

Board Members

Currently/Formerly Homeless Representatives

Reece Correll, Peer Support Specialist, PORT/PATH
Linda Rama, Community Representative

Homeless or Housing Program Representatives

Dan Kelly, Director, Shelter Association of Washtenaw County
Jan Little, Director, Michigan Ability Partners

CoC Nonfunded Agency Representative

Ashley Yoshizaki, Program Coordinator- Washtenaw County Prisoner Re-entry Program, Catholic Social Services

Workforce Development Representative

Shamar Herron, Deputy Director, Michigan Works! Southeast

Faith Community Representative

Jim Mogensen, Board Member, Religious Action for Affordable Housing

Private Funder Representative

Neel Hajra, COO & VP- Community Investment, Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation

At-Large Representatives

Pam Smith, President & CEO, United Way of Washtenaw County

Housing Commission Representatives

Zachary Fosler, Director, Ypsilanti Housing Commission
Jennifer Hall, Director, Ann Arbor Housing Commission

Veterans Administration Representative

Shawn Dowling, Coordinator- Health Care for Homeless Veterans, Veterans Administration of Ann Arbor

Washtenaw County Board Chair or designee

Diane Heidt, Deputy County Administrator, Washtenaw County

City of Ann Arbor Mayor or designee

John Hieftje, former Mayor of Ann Arbor

Ann Arbor City Police Chief or designee

James Baird, Chief, Ann Arbor Police Department

Washtenaw County Sheriff or Designee

Kathy Wyatt, Executive Assistance to the Sheriff, Washtenaw County Sheriff's Office

Ypsilanti City Police Chief or Designee

Tony DeGiusti, Chief, Ysilanti Police Department

Washtenaw Housing Alliance Board Members

Amanda Carlisle, Director, Washtenaw Housing Alliance
Susan Wyman, Director- Strategic Planning, St. Joseph Mercy Health
Rhonda Weathers, Director, SOS Community Services

Washtenaw County Public Health Director or designee

Jimena Loveluck, Deputy Health Officer, Washtenaw County Public Health

Washtenaw County Office of Community & Economic Development Director or designee

Andrea Plevek, Director, Washtenaw County Office of  Community & Economic Development

Washtenaw County Community Mental Health Director or designee

Trish Cortes, Director, Washtenaw County Community Mental Health

Department of Health & Human Services Director or designee

Renee Adorjan, Director, Department of Health and Human Services

Another Township or City Highest Elected Official or designee

Renee Smith, City of Ypsilanti Representative

Substance Abuse Coordinating Agency Director or designee

Katie Postmus, Coordinator- SUD Prevention, Community Mental Health Partnership of Southeast Michigan

Housing Access of Washtenaw County Representative

Marla Conkin, Director- Social Services, The Salvation Army of Washtenaw County

McKinney-Vento Liason Representative

Krista Girty, Director, Ozone House

Institution of Higher Education Representative

Shawntae Harris, Eastern Michigan University & Washtenaw Community College

Back to Top

Document Actions
Google Translate