You are here: Home Government Departments Community and Economic Development Economic Opportunity Historic Preservation Historic District Commission

Historic District Commission

Historic District Commission LogoA Local Historic District is an entity that protects the integrity of a historic resource or group of resources.  A Historic District Commission is selected to implement the ordinance, and provide support to each resource.

In 1970, the state of Michigan passed the Local Historic Districts Act, PA 169, which safeguards a community's heritage by allowing local governments to adopt an ordinance that contains design review guidelines based on national standards.  The Washtenaw County Historic District Commission (WCHDC) was created in 1974 and currently oversees thirteen Local Historic Districts. Its mission is to protect the historic buildings, sites, objects, and landscapes of Washtenaw County and to promote a culture of historic preservation.

The primary functions of the Washtenaw County Historic District Commission are to:

Geer School 20141. Identify, document and inventory historic county resources

2. Foster protection of historic resources by the establishment and maintenance of historic districts

3. Provide educational programs and information regarding Washtenaw County history and historic preservation issues

4. Recognize significant heritage sites through a program of historic markers

5. Support local and state historic preservation organizations


The Washtenaw County HDC typically meets four times a year.  Please refer to the HDC meeting calendar for the next meeting date as well as past meeting minutes and agendas.

HDC Meetings, Agendas, and Minutes

HDC Application for Work (COA)

2018 Washtenaw County Historic District Commissioners Contact Information

Historic District Brochure

Washtenaw County Local Historic District Ordinance

Washtenaw County Historic District Commission Facebook Page

Document Actions
Google Translate