Local Historic Districts

A Local Historic District is an entity that protects the integrity of a historic resource or group of resources.  In 1970, the state of Michigan passed the Local Historic Districts Act, PA 169, which safeguards a community's heritage by allowing local governments to adopt an ordinance that contains design review guidelines based on national standards.  A historic district commission is selected to implement the ordinance, and provide support to each resource.  The Washtenaw County Historic District Commission was created in 1974 and currently oversees twelve Local Historic Districts.

Washtenaw County's Local Historic Districts- including complete HDC Commission Reports!
Local Historic District Annual Staff Report, 2008

Local Historic District Tool Kit
General Information

Getting Started





Document Actions
Google Translate