You are here: Home Government Clerk/Register of Deeds Schedule of Fees for Recording & Filing Instruments

Schedule of Fees for Recording & Filing Instruments

Payment methods Include: Cash, Check, VISA/MasterCard & Discover card


EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 1, 2016 FEES FOR RECORDING DOCUMENTS WILL CHANGE. SEE BELOW FOR DETAILS.


FEES FOR RECORDING DOCUMENTS THROUGH SEPTEMBER 30, 2016:

    Tax Certificates

    WARRANTY DEEDS, Master Deeds, LAND CONTRACTS or ASSIGNMENT of LAND CONTRACTS, which contain a covenant of warrant, must have a tax certificate from the County Treasurer's Office (MCLA 211.135):

    • Up to 5 Descriptions:     $5.00      Each Additional Description:     $0.20

     

    Recording Fees

    For entering and recording a DEED, MORTGAGE, LIS PENDENS, DOCUMENT, or OTHER INSTRUMENT:

    • First Page:     $14.00*     Each additional page:  $3.00

    *$4.00 of this fee is deposited to the Michigan State Survey & Remonumentation (MSSR) fund. Any document, which assigns or discharges more than one instrument, $3.00 shall be added to the recording fee for each additional instrument assigned or discharged.

    • U.C.C. / Fixture Filing      $15.00

     

    Copies and Searches

    Copy, real estate records

    $1.00

    Copy, U.C.C. filing, per page

    $2.00

    Copy, State or Federal Tax Lien

    $1.00

    Copy, Plats of Record, per page

    $2.00

    Certification of any of the above copies

    $1.00

    State tax lien search certificate

    $3.00

    Federal tax lien search certificate

    $3.00

    Financing statement search certificate (U.C.C.)

    1 debtor name $6.00

    Transfer Tax on Total Consideration

    County Transfer Tax = $1.10 per $1,000.00
    State Transfer Tax = $7.50 per $1,000.00
    State Transfer Tax became effective January 1, 1995

     

    Recording Fee Change Effective OCTOBER 1, 2016 in the State of Michigan

     

    EFFECTIVE ON OCTOBER 1, 2016, all documents will cost $30.00 to record regardless of the number of pages.

    For a document that assigns or discharges more than 1 instrument $3.00 for each instrument assigned or discharged (in addition to the $30.00 flat fee).

    To certify a recorded document $5.00; copies remain at $1.00 per page.

    Recording fees are set by the Michigan Legislature. Public Acts 224 through 232 of 2016 have set the new fees.

    By law this change applies to all counties in the State of Michigan except Wayne County.

    Document Actions
    Google Translate