You are here: Home Government Board of Commissioners Public Notices Seeking Applicants for RTA Board

Seeking Applicants for RTA Board


The County is inviting residents to apply for a seat on the RTA Board. Applications must be emailed to Lisa Moutinho at by this Friday, December 21, 2012 at 3:00 pm.


Washtenaw County Chair of the Board of Commissioners, Conan Smith announced on Friday that he will be making two appointments to the new ten-person Regional Transit Authority Board created by SB 909 and expected to be signed by Governor Snyder next week.  Under the new legislation, Wayne, Oakland, Macomb and Washtenaw Counties will be part of a regional transportation authority under the guidance of a ten-person authority board.  Each of the four counties will appoint two members to the Board, with the Governor and the Mayor of Detroit each appointing one person.  


Washtenaw County is soliciting applications from those individuals interested in being appointed to the Authority.  Under the new law, applicants must be residents and registered electors of Washtenaw County.  Employees of Washtenaw County, elected officials or employees of a public transportation provider are not eligible to be appointed to the new Authority Board. Preferential consideration will be given to those individuals who possess transportation/land use planning experience, work in the transit profession, or those with leadership experience within the Metropolitan Detroit region. 


Interested, qualified applicants must submit a cover letter and resume by 3:00 p.m., Friday, December 21st, 2012.  Materials should be sent to Washtenaw County Management Analyst, Lisa Moutinho at no later than 3:00 p.m. on Friday, December 21, 2012.  A public hearing will be held on Thursday, December 27, 2012 beginning at 8:00 a.m. at the Washtenaw County Learning Resource Center, Room A, 4135 Washtenaw Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI  48107.  The advisory committee shall review all submissions and select between 2 to 4 individuals for interview.  Those candidates must be available for either personal or video conference interview on December 27, 2012 and will be contacted directly with that information. 


The advisory committee reviewing and interviewing interested candidates consists of:


            Conan Smith, Chair of the Board, Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners


            Yousef Rabhi, District 11 Commissioner, Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners


Rolland Sizemore, Jr, District 5 Commissioner, Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners.


            Michael Ford, CEO of AATA.


            Bill Milliken, Jr., Milliken Realty


            Carolyn Grawi, Director of Advocacy and Education at the Ann Arbor Center for

            Independent Living. 


Document Actions
Google Translate